If I've learned anything the past six months, it's how easy it is to blame the shit in your life on other people.
For example... five hypothetical situations. You could look at it from this perspective...
1. You fail a course in college. Since you rarely fail, it's obviously the professor's fault. They can't teach, they are a bad teacher, therefor you fail.
2. You gain ten pounds. Your schoolwork is stressing you out, so you don't have time to eat anything besides fast food, and have too much homework to do any REAL physical activity... therefor, you gain a few.
3. You catch and STD. The person you were with was irresponsible and gave you the STD. It's not your fault.
4. Your job sucks because the management isn't understanding. They aren't sympathetic to your needs. The people you work with blow.... therfore your job sucks.
5. Your relationship failed. The person you were with was a prick, you didn't do anything wrong... they treated you like crap, you treated them like royalty. It isn't your fault.
Ideally, the world would work like that. Ideally, everything that happened to you would be exactly what you deserve... perfection. Unfortunately, the real world doesn't work like that. Sometimes, bad shit happens to people for no reason... but most of the time.... it doesn't work that way. In reality...
The same five hypothetical situations, looked at through a more realistic view.
1. You fail a course in college. Even though you rarely fail, you were lazy. You didn't take notes, or you didn't understand how the professor taught. Maybe you skipped class too often. Maybe you just didn't try as hard as you could have... therefor, you fail.
2. You gain ten pounds. You've been stressed with coursework, but you'd rather spend less to eat like shit as opposed to dropping a few extra dollars on veggies instead of french fries. Sure, you're busy, but there's no reason you can't read notes and run on the treadmill at the same time.... therefor, you gain a few.
3. You catch an STD. Yes, the person you're with should have been tested, but the reality is, you make the conscious decision to engage in sexual activity. You knew the risks, you took the risks, and you caught the short end of the stick.
4. Your job sucks, but you go into work dreading every moment of every day. You don't expect anything but a shitty day, with frustrating people and frustrating moments. You get what you put into it.
5. Your relationship ended. Sure, he was a jerk.... but be honest with yourself. Were you perfect?
It's so easy to blame everyone but yourself, because no one wants to be the one that ruined their own life.
After six months of chaos, I've learned to own up to the mistakes I've made. I can take responsibility for the things that have gone wrong in my life, and I've come out with my head held high, ready to step forward and move ahead.
Can you say the same?
No comments:
Post a Comment